More Sickness

19 Jan

P1040871

 

That picture up above would be my home-rigged drying rack for Alex’s leather shoes.  They needed to be scrubbed after he got sick on them in two different ways.  Our house was hit with a stomach virus.

For those keeping count, in the first three weeks of 2013, we’ve now had three different illnesses hit our kid: RSV, strep, and now some nasty virus that causes all sorts of digestive upset.  The entire family was knocked down with that last one.

We have an amazing neighborhood, though, filled with nice neighbors.  When I hadn’t been able to keep down even a single sip of water for several hours, my husband went next door to ask our neighbor, who is a nurse, if I needed to go to the ER.  She came over to assess and told Steven what to do for me so we didn’t have to go.  But she said that if things didn’t improve in a few hours, call her, and she’d come over and stay with the baby while we went to the hospital.  Thankfully, we didn’t have to take her up on that offer.

Another neighbor offered to pick up food for us while she was at the store.  I took advantage, as I realized that we were out of fruit for Alex.  I so appreciated that, especially as Steven was down with the virus by that time.

I was hit hardest, and my husband wound up doing everything, despite being sick himself.  At one point, the baby was screaming upstairs in his crib, and I was sitting on the kitchen floor crying because I couldn’t make it up the stairs to get him.  Steven swooped in, took care of everything, and let me sleep all day.

Times like this, I really hate being away from home.  Or, what used to be home, I should say.  My mama would have been over in a heartbeat to take care of Alex.  I can’t complain, though, as God provided us with friends and neighbors who helped us.

2 Responses to “More Sickness”

  1. carrie January 21, 2013 at 9:12 AM #

    Yuk–so sorry to hear that, Anne Marie. Hope you will all be restored to health soon!

  2. Roxie January 21, 2013 at 4:12 PM #

    Sorry that all of you were down with the stomach bug. It can be nasty for sure. I know how fast these things can move on children too. I clean with a pur-castile soap with tea-tree oil in it. It works wonders to keep the bugs down.

Leave a Reply

