Obsessed

24 Jan

Alex has a new obsession: stuffed animals.  I think it’s super cute.  He wants to take them with him wherever he goes lately.  I’m realizing that we need to minimize the number of animals in his crib with him because when I get him up and take him to the changing table for a diaper change, he wants every single one of his animals to come with us.  This afternoon, we had two bears and a puppy crammed up on the table with him.  If I tried to leave one behind in the crib, he freaked out.  After his diaper change, all the animals had to come downstairs with us.  He wouldn’t even let go of them while drinking his milk.

P1040894

 

It’s not uncommon to have to take an animal away now before a meal.  I don’t mind his hanging onto somebody while drinking milk, but the animals have to wait for him elsewhere when he eats actual food.

P1040884

 

My kid still can’t say much, but he can bark, meow, howl like a wolf, make an elephant sound (with use of his arm as a trunk), and be a monkey like a champ.  I’m just thrilled to be raising a little animal lover.  He’s even learned how to pet Ninja gently without any over-excited smacking.  Now if we could just work on staying quiet while petting the cat, instead of excitedly screeching like a howler monkey and sending the cat flying out of the room in terror…

2 Responses to “Obsessed”

  1. JulieU January 24, 2013 at 10:00 PM #

    This made me really LOL. He is so cute.

  2. Roxie January 25, 2013 at 8:03 PM #

    If you ever figure a way to get him to pet the cat without the screach like a howler monkey please share it with me. I have been a mother 40 years, grandmother 15 years, and a licensed child care provider for 25 years. (I have a lot of kid experience) I can not get the babies to pet without a BIG noise. They just get so excited they can not help it. My dog has learned over the years to just tuck her tail and let it go, but she still looks at me with a ‘why the heck do they scream’ look…

Leave a Reply

