Reclaiming Valentine’s Day

14 Feb

I’ve never been a big fan of Valentine’s Day, but two years ago, I thought it would never be a nice day again.  I spent most of February 14, 2011 crying.  I’d called the vet that morning to schedule my old, sick cat’s Final Appointment.  He was my baby, my first pet, and my heart was broken over what we had to do.

Oh, and I also took a pregnancy test that afternoon, and it was positive.

For most people, that would have been reason to rejoice, but I was too upset over the cat and completely freaked out at the idea of having a baby.  Supposedly, I couldn’t get pregnant.  It’s a long story, but 13 years of childless marriage seemed to prove that true.  So to say that this was a surprise is an understatement.

Valentine’s Day 2012 was pleasant enough, but I was still tired from the newness of having a young infant.

But this year?  It was actually a little fun.  We’ll still never be big celebrants of this particular holiday, but it was nice to pick out a new stuffed animal for Alex (a monkey) and surprise  him with it.  Alex and I made a card for Steven with a cut-out of Alex’s hand print making the sign for I love you.  I even gave Alex a crayon for the first time ever and let him write in the card.  Took him a while to figure it out, then he went crazy with that crayon!

I honestly never thought I’d enjoy Valentine’s Day again.  But there’s something so sweet about having a happy little person to celebrate with.  I never knew what joy it could be to watch him grow and learn and try new things.  So now I’m going to look at Valentine’s Day as the anniversary of when we first learned about the existence of our Little Love.  I’ve reclaimed this day.

P1040958

2 Responses to “Reclaiming Valentine’s Day”

  1. JulieU February 15, 2013 at 7:59 AM #

    Anne Marie – I’m crying happy tears. What a beautiful way to reclaim 14 Feb.
    xxoo

  2. carrie February 15, 2013 at 9:38 AM #

    Aww, that’s sweet, Anne Marie!

Leave a Reply

