It’s Been a Year

15 Apr

I realized last week that our one-year anniversary of our move from Texas to Oklahoma had passed.  Reflecting on the past year, I came to the realization that I like it here.  It took me a very long time to reach that point, but here it is.  Oklahoma is pretty great.  I thought it would be nice to make a list of what I like about living here:

  • My husband works 2 miles from home and doesn’t have to drive in traffic like he did in Dallas.
  • Steven often comes home for lunch.  It’s always nice for Alex and me to have lunch with him.  Or, we can all go out to lunch without having to drive a long distance to meet up.
  • We live in a fabulous neighborhood.  We’re on a quiet cul-de-sac where Alex can eventually learn to ride a bike, our neighbors are all friendly and helpful, and we share a fence with folks who have become good friends and even have a kid the same age as Alex.
  • We’ve made some really nice friends through church and Steven’s work.
  • We love our house and backyard.  The house has everything I wanted in a home, and the backyard is large with lots of room for Alex to play.
  • The vet costs a lot less here.  (But for the record, while our new vet is very nice, I really miss my old vet in Texas!)
  • Shopping isn’t the main source of entertainment here.  One problem I always had with Dallas is that shopping was the favorite pastime of many people.  Materialism was rampant.  I don’t want my kid growing up thinking his self-worth comes from the brand of clothes he wears or the cars his family drives.  (Materialism exists everywhere, but it doesn’t seem quite so prevalent here.)
  • Steven gets to work for an organization that has been near-and-dear to our hearts for years.  He loves using his technical skills for Kingdom work instead of advertising for soulless corporations.
  • My backyard has loads of birds, squirrels, and bunnies, and even turtles!  I love animals!  It’s a hoot to watch Ninja Cat get into hunter mode while watching from the window.
  • There are lots of little boys Alex’s age in the nursery at church.  I love that he’ll grow up in a church with lots of kids his age.  (While we adored our church in Texas, the only other kid in the nursery with him was a little girl who was 6 months younger.)
  • And then there are the amazing sunsets we see most nights:

P1040889

That’s not to say that there aren’t things I miss about Texas.  There are.  A lot of things, actually, but I’m at the point now where I can’t focus any longer on the deficiencies of life here.  Life is good.

One Response to “It’s Been a Year”

  1. carrie April 15, 2013 at 7:13 PM #

    Glad to see these reflections, and what a gorgeous sunset! What you described reminds me of the small town in which we live.

Leave a Reply

