I See the Moon

24 Apr

P1050051

I see the moon
And the moon sees me
God bless the moon
And God bless me

That little rhyme is from one of Alex’s little nursery rhyme books.  I think of it every time I have a moment outdoors at night when the moon is visible.

There’s a comic strip called Rose Is Rose, which I used to read in The Dallas Morning News every day.  It’s about Rose’s life with her little family of a husband, son, and cat.  Every once in a while, the husband, Jimbo, goes outside at night and has what he calls his “garbage moment.”  He gets quite upset if anyone or anything disturbs his garbage moment, which is when he takes out the trash.  I never understood that.

Then we moved here.

Steven usually takes the trash out to the bin for me, but sometimes, it falls on me.  Because we can actually see stars here, unlike in Dallas where you can only see three stars on a clear night, I find myself standing at the garbage can, looking up in awe.  Especially when it’s a clear, crisp night with a bit of a chill in the air and the neighborhood is quiet.  Wow.  Just wow.

My garbage moment.  I get it.  Finally.  And as I stand there, just taking in the sight of stars lighting up the sky like glitter, I find myself wishing that for just a moment, the world would go dark so I can see the sky as God meant for it to be seen.

One Response to “I See the Moon”

  1. Katherine April 25, 2013 at 5:25 AM #

    That last paragraph is some beautiful writing, fellow English major. 🙂

Leave a Reply

