Cardboard Stove

26 Jan

We bought Alex a really cute little cooking set and play food for Christmas.  He enjoys it, but he hasn’t really known how to play with it.  When I cook, I use a stove.  He’s great with imagination, but I realized the cookware would make more sense to him if he had his own little stove for cooking.

What I didn’t want to do is spend money on a play stove.  Alex has so many toys as it is.  I didn’t want to put down cash on even more stuff.  I figured a cardboard box could work nicely, so I searched Pinterest to see if anyone else had had the same idea.  I found several cardboard stoves on there, and used a few different photos for inspiration.

I started with a large moving box.  I did have to buy this, as we got rid of all our moving boxes last year.

P1060561

I hot glued the top of the box to keep it closed and give the box its shape while I worked on it.  I used a box cutter to cut out a door for the oven.  I also cut a window into the door and hot glued a piece of clear vinyl over it.  (The vinyl was leftover from one of Steven’s projects.)  For a handle, I used a cabinet pull that I’d bought shortly after we purchased our house.  I’d brought it home to see if I liked it for our cabinets.  I did, but after counting how many we’d have to buy and replace, that project was tabled for a while.

P1060565

Ninja and Theo can't resist a box

Ninja and Theo can’t resist a box

P1060564

Steven got involved at this point.  He was concerned about the structural integrity of the cardboard.  It’s for a rambunctious 2-year-old, after all, so he figured it should be reinforced.  He grabbed some vinyl slats leftover after he shortened some window blinds and cut them to fit around the door of the oven.  He also fitted slats on the inside of the box around the door so that the door can’t be shoved in.  Additionally, he added a magnet and a small piece of metal to keep the door latched shut.

P1060566

I’ve been crazy sick lately and on a ton of prescriptions.  That meant that I had a lot of medicine bottles I’ve recently emptied.  I used the lids to make knobs for the stove.  I had some leftover chalkboard spray paint from another project, so I used that to paint the lids, then I used a metallic sharpie to write on them.  Steven drilled holes for me.  Then he figured this would also need reinforcement, so he used more blind slats inside the box where the knobs would go.  This meant he had to use his drill to make holes in the box for the knobs.  For the knobs to spin, they needed washers or nuts or something behind them, and Steven didn’t have any small enough, so that did require another trip to Lowe’s for a 99-cent bag of thingamajigs.

P1060572

I saw on Pinterest that several people used CDs for burners on their homemade stoves.  I thought that was brilliant, so Steven dug up some unused CDs for me to hot glue on the top.  I didn’t do anything fancy to the top of the stove, so it’s not terribly impressive with the obvious line across the top, but I’m okay with that.  It’s just a little play stove, and Alex doesn’t care.

P1060591

I’m quite pleased with the finished result, and Alex thinks it’s pretty fun, too.

P1060569 P1060570_edited-1 P1060578 P1060579

Of course, the best part about it is getting to climb inside.

P1060588 P1060589 P1060590

This was a lot of fun to make, and I love that it was so inexpensive.  The total cost was under $3.

4 Responses to “Cardboard Stove”

  1. Tamara Lowe January 26, 2014 at 5:19 PM #

    That looks so great. Some of Quinton’s favourite toys when he was little were made from boxes and imagination too! Awesome job.

  2. Gypsy Chaos January 26, 2014 at 11:23 PM #

    THIS is one of the cutest stoves I’ve seen. I love the reuse of materials, the reinforcements by Dad – and the magnetic latch is just perfect. Of course Alex is going to climb inside; his cats did.

  3. carrie January 27, 2014 at 9:35 AM #

    Hope the oven wasn’t turned on when Alex climbed in. Ha!

    Great project–thanks for sharing. Sorry you haven’t been feeling well.

    • Anne Marie @ The Oklahoma Texan January 29, 2014 at 2:15 PM #

      Seeing as I forgot to make any controls for the oven, it wasn’t turned on when the small child climbed in! However, he thinks it’s hilarious when I mention making Roasted Alex for dinner.

Leave a Reply

